TRAVEL DIARY: BRATISLAVA, SLOVAKIA

DATE OF VISIT: October 25th 2017

when i visited bratislava for the first time in 2016 during a college weekend trip i didn’t get to see a lot of the city because we were all more focused on finding alcohol than exploring the city. shame on us! so when i found out that my boyfriend and i were eligible for a free danube cruise from vienna to bratislava i immediately signed us up!

okay sooo now i’m just going to tell you eeeeverything about our cruise to and day in bratislava (which is probably going to be a lot of blah-blah). but anyway – here we gooo:


at 8:30 in the morning my boyfriend and i boarded the MS KAISERIN ELISABETH II which holds up to 600 people on three decks. at 9:00 the ship finally cast off towards bratislava. on board we had breakfast and just enjoyed the great view on lower austria’s nature.

after 3 hours we arrived at the pier in bratislava. since i knew we’d only have a few hours in bratislava – 3 to be exact – before the ship would head back to vienna i created a walking route (which you can see here) for us a few days before our trip. the walking tour was supposed to take us like 1h20 to complete so i thought with stopping for pictures and grabbing lunch everything would work out perfectly. spoiler alert: it did not. more about that later though.

IMG_1592

we started our walking tour at the harbor and made our way up to the BRATISLAVA CASTLE which is located on a hill above the old town and offers a georgeous view over bratislava. we also loooved strolling through the beautiful, newly renovated baroque gardens at the back side of the castle!

up on the castle hill we also had lunch at the RESTAURANT PARLAMENT which – you won’t believe it! – is located right next to the parliament building. what we loved about the restaurant were the huuuge windows so we could have lunch and also enjoy the great view over bratislava and the danube river. also our food was suuuper yummy!

before making our way into the old town we also passed a few other historic buildings like the GRASSALKOVICH PRESIDENTIAL PALACE (which was under contruction unfortunately) and the ST. ELIZABETH’S CHURCH which is famous for being painted entirely in blue.

after that we were off to explore bratislava’s old town, called staré mesto, where we were able to see the ST. MICHAEL’S TOWER & GATE, the JESUIT CHURCH, the PRIMATES PALACE,  the OLD TOWN HALL, the famous ČUMIL statue and the beautiful ST. MARTIN’S CATHEDRAL.

after exploring bratislava’s old town we realized that we wereso fascinated by all the beautiful buildings and things to see that we completely lost track of time and missed our ship back to vienna. we were still strolling through bratislava when we should have actually already been on the ship!

good thing there’s a direct train connection from bratislava so we just walked to the train station in bratislava and took the train back to vienna. that actually only took us 1hr while taking the ship would’ve taken us 6hrs!!! so we got more time to explore bratislava plus we were home earlier than expected. and we also got to walk across the NOVÝ MOST BRIDGE where you can also find the famous UFO OBSERVATION DECK on our way to the trainstation.

IMG_1585

at 8pm we then arrived back in vienna – earlier than the ship but with a few extra hours in bratislava! we really really had a great day in vienna’s twin city and will for sure come back sometime. especially since it’s so close to and easy to reach from vienna!


have you ever been to bratislava? and if yes did you love it as much as we did? what did you like best about the city? tell me in the comments.

XX LISA

49 thoughts on “TRAVEL DIARY: BRATISLAVA, SLOVAKIA

  1. Rhonda Albom says:

    Lucky you to miss the ship. That is one thing about cruises (ocean, river, or other) – you have limited time in a port. If I like a place, I would willingly miss the boat (assuming alternative transportation is not too expensive) and explore. Maybe stay overnight? Bratislava does look lovely and quite impressive.

    Like

    • Lisa Marie says:

      That’s why I don’t really want to go on a cruise. I feel like most of the time you’re on the ship and don’t see anything of the countries/cities you’re visiting because you have so little time there! On the other hand you get to visit a lot of different countries in just a few days though!

      Like

  2. oneadventuretraveler says:

    Great day trip from Vienna by ship or by rail. With so much to see and great food, I could see why the extra time is helpful to see more of the amazing city. On my next trip to Vienna which I love, by the way, I must do this side trip. #feetdotravel

    Liked by 1 person

  3. feetdotravel says:

    I have read so much about Bratislava, I really need to go there! Your trip looks so good, thank you for making me push this city higher up on my “must-visit” list. #feetdotravel

    Like

  4. Travel Lexx says:

    Great that you guys got to enjoy more of the city despite missing your boat back! Silver lining and all that! Bratislava is really pretty and sadly I was only there for a short period of time and really would love to go back and explore it more! You guys managed to see loads!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cynthia says:

    I really felt at home in Bratislava – have been two times for one night each on business, but would love to go back someday for leisure! Getting there by ship from Vienna looks like the absolute perfect way to do so :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lisa Marie says:

      The food really was delicious! And yes, I love that statue. There‘s actually a few of those statues all around Bratislava, but that one coming out of the pothole is the most famous one. :-)

      Like

  6. Sherrie says:

    Looks so picturesque! Too funny that you wound up missing your boat :) But I can understand why – I love seeing/photographing buildings in the places I visit too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wanderlusting Liz says:

      I’ve actually only ever been there in late summer and fall but from all the pictures I’ve sen on other blogs Bratislava looks extra cute covered in snow! Also one of my friends told me that there is a great Christmas Market in the Old Town square you should definitely give it a try. :-)

      Like

  7. Michelle says:

    Really enjoyable post :) I’ve read a lot about Slovenia recently, and it was really refreshing to read about Slovakia for a change! It seems like one of those countries that haven’t really been affected by mass tourism yet, which is great. One of those go-before-it-gets-too-touristy places. Glad that you managed to get back to Vienna with no problems even though you missed your ship – it’s incredible how much faster the train is! Talk about efficient.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Toimas says:

    Bratislava is a surprisingly nice city. I was there few times and at first, I didn’t like but later I found how beautiful it is, but you have look for it ;) City center is pretty small and that you have to know where to go… I recommend visiting also park Sad Janka Kráľa. #TheWeeklyPostcard

    Like

  9. Amanda A. says:

    Such a fun trip! One of my good friends is from Slovakia and she’s always giving me a hard time about visiting! I will, I will! It sure does look beautiful. Your outfit is super cute by the way!

    Like

  10. Ruth says:

    I went to Bratislava last year and I am glad I took the time to stop by and get to know the city. We loved the colorful buildings, the food, the friendliness of the residents and the hip vibe. I will go back without hesitation. #citytripping

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Esther says:

    YESSSSS I LOVED Bratislava, it was such a great surprise. I visited last April and loved it. The Art Nouveau quarter (whoah… blue church) blew me away. We stayed at the LOFT hotel, which has a micro brewery attached and that was absolutely great.
    #CityTripping

    Liked by 1 person

COMMENT