2017 TRAVEL RECAP

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!
i hope you all had a good start into 2018 so far?

a little late – but better late than never – i want to give you a quick overview of all the paces i got to visit last year.  i gotta say 2017 was a quite good travel year! i got to visit a total of 8 countries (3 of which i’ve never been to before) and also took some time to see more of my home country austria.


so without further ado, here’s my 2017 travel recap:

1. MÉXICO

in february i got to visit méxico for the first time ever. my two fellow travel barbies and i stayed in cancún for 10 days and explored all of the riviera maya. i think i can speak for all of us when i say that this was one of the best vacations of 2017!

2017-02-24 14.42.42PS: if you don’t know yet, that vacation is where my blog got its name from! find out more here.

2. CZECH REPUBLIC

in may the travel barbie squad struck again – we took a weekend trip to prague. this was definitely a super fun (and spontaneous) trip we’ll never forget. for so many reasons! more on that another time though. 😂

Photo 14.01.18, 12 16 36 AM

3. USA

this is a must every year. some of you might or might not know that  did a high school exchange to michigan when i was 16 so i try to go back at least once a year to visit my friends and family.

Photo 14.01.18, 12 33 39 AM

4. LIECHTENSTEIN

liechtenstein is the sixth smallest country in the world and also shares a border with austria. i’ve wanted to visit this tiny country for so long so during the 4-days-4-countries-roadtrip my boyfriend and i did in august we just hopped by. and absolutely loved it there.

cof

5. SWITZERLAND

i’ve actually been to switzerland 3 times this year. first time for new year’s 16/17, then during the 4-days-4-countries-roadtrip my boyfriend and i did in august and then again for new year’s 17/18. guess my favorite country!

2017-08-13-13-35-41-e1515888437205.jpg

6. BELGIUM

another country i hadnt been to before! one of the travel barbie girls worked in belgium during summer break sooo of course we had to hop on a plane and visit her there. we got to explore each the capital brussels and the seaside town knokke for a day.

Photo 13.01.18, 11 11 21 PM

7. GERMANY

i actually went to germany twice in 2017 – once just for a quick stopover in munich during our 4-days-4-countries-roadtrip and once when i went to berlin for a week in september with my momma bear. my mom and i travel together all the time and i’m so happy we get along so well!!!

2017-09-02 13.02.48

8. SLOVAKIA

in october my boyfriend and i did a danube cruise from vienna to bratislava and enjoyed an eventful day in vienna’s beautiful twin city.  the city is just sooo beautiful and unique – we loved it there!

IMG_1622

BONUS: AUSTRIA

again during our 4-days-4-countries-roadtrip my boyfriend and i spent some time in vorarlberg (i finally visited all 9 federal states of austria now – yay!) and then in november we did a daytrip to hallstatt and admont abbey which was on my list for so long. so happy i finally got to go there!

IMG_1752.JPG


i haven’t managed to upload blogposts for all those destinations yet (thanks college..) but they’re all going to get uploaded asap, i promise!

so here’s to 2018 – may it be just as full of travels and adventures as 2017 was!

42 thoughts on “2017 TRAVEL RECAP

  1. Kana says:

    You visited all the places I want to but haven’t! I love all the pictures of you in the different spots, too! Hopefully you’ll have another exciting year! Thanks for joining Fly Away Friday, hope to see you again this week! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. xyuandbeyond says:

    Oh so many places I want to go to, and good for you – wish I could have got my kids to travel. We always tell friends we couldn’t get our kids to runaway and travel so we did. Keep up the great work. #flayawayfriday

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary (The World Is A Book( says:

    What a fantastic year of travel and adventures! I’m kinda jealous of you living in a beautiful country and your accessibility to the nearby countries. How great that you try to see your American friends annually. Here’s wishing you another amazing year of travels!

    Like

  4. Lisa (Travel Loving Family) says:

    What a year!! We visited Switzerland for the first time this year;) It is such a stunning part of the world;) #MondayEscapes

    Like

  5. Anda says:

    Quite a busy year, Lisa! Other than Mexico which I no longer enjoy visiting, I kind of envy you for the other trips. I love Europe! I’ve never been in Liechtenstein. I’ve heard it’s really beautiful. #TheWeeklyPostcard

    Like

  6. Clare Thomson says:

    What a fantastic year of travels you’ve had! And it’s so cool that you travel so regularly with some of your best girlfriends. I’d love to visit Lichtenstein too. Thanks for sharing on #FarawayFiles

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lisa Marie says:

      Yes, living in Europe definitely makes hopping from country to country really easy. I have to drive for like half an hour and can be in a whole other country. I really really love that about Europe. :-D

      Like

  7. Sarah says:

    ahh you did an exchange to michigan? i’m from michigan, and back living here now too! it’s not a super popular international tourist destination so it always makes me smile when I see it on travel blogs! Isabel from Sunny Side of This came to Michigan as well for a school trip which is funny – such a small world! Looks like you had some amazing trips in 2017 :)

    Like

    • Lisa Marie says:

      Yesss I did! I actually didn’t choose Michigan, I just chose the US and then was assigned a state but I’m sooo glad I got to go to Michigan. I just love it so much there!!! Where in Michigan do you live? We should totally meet up next time I’m “home” :-)
      And we do indeed live in a small world. :-D

      Like

  8. Cynthia says:

    What epic travel adventures you’ve had this year! I went to Knokke, Belgium just by chance (cycling there from Bruges) and loved it so much! It is one of my favorite travel memories – chillin’ on the beach with an ice-cold Hoegaarden. Yaaas. I am intrigued by your Prague story if you choose to write more, hah ;)

    Like

    • Lisa Marie says:

      Oooh yes, I loved Knokke too! I’ve actually never heard of that place before until my friend went there for work. It’s really worth visiting though. And yesss I fill definitely write more about Prague later this year. 😂

      Like

  9. Lillian says:

    I know what you mean about not having enough time to blog about all the trips! I was in the same boat last year… hope I have the time now to catch up. I might just do a travel round up like this as well. Great idea. #wanderfulwednesday

    Like

    • Lisa Marie says:

      It’s been hard because I started this blog about at the same time as my senior year at college which has been really time consuming so far. Hope we’ll both be able to catch up with our posts soon :-)

      Like

  10. Sara says:

    So many great adventures. The Mexico trip looks fun! Where in Michigan was your exchange program? I’ve been to Detroit and Albion (tiny town) for work… both were pleasantly surprising. I was sad my co-workers didn’t have their passports so we could head over to Canada though, lol.

    Like

    • Lisa Marie says:

      Thank you, it definitely was! :-)
      I did my exchange in Jackson (40 mins west of Ann Arbor and 30 mins east of Albion). Never made it over the Canadian border either sadly – but that definitely has to happen soon! :-D

      Like

    • Lisa Marie says:

      It really is! Doing a high school exchange was probably the best decision of my life! Sadly some people don’t keep the connection with their second family but it’s cool to hear that your roommate and her exchange student are still in touch! :-)

      Liked by 1 person

COMMENT